Author Topic: Supplied TLD is incorrect  (Read 13356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 5: .sx, .hn, and .bw Domains
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2013, 05:02:12 AM »
If you want to add .sx (Sint Maartin) domains:

In:
/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
$servers = array(
ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.sx' => array(
'server' => 'whois.sx',
'available' => 'AVAILABLE'
),

If you want to add .bw (Botswana) and .hn (Honduras) domains:

.bw

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.bw' => array(
'server' => 'http://secure.coccaregistry.net/modules/addons/eppregistrarmanager/domaincheck.php?domain=',
'available' => 'Not Registered'
),

.hn

REPLACE:

Code: [Select]
    '.hn' => Array
        (
        'server' => 'whois.afilias-grs.info',
        'available' => 'NOT FOUND'
    ),

WITH:

Code: [Select]
'.hn' => Array(
'server' => 'http://secure.coccaregistry.net/modules/addons/eppregistrarmanager/domaincheck.php?domain=',
'available' => 'Not Registered'

I'm uploading another version of the whois.txt file.  This one includes Fixes 1-5.  It has also been reorganized and optimized.  The TLDs are now ordered as ICANN (alphabetized), and then IANA (alphabetized).  The optimization reduced the file-size by over 20% by replacing the spaces with tabs.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2013, 05:23:42 AM by thetrusteeco »
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 6: CentralNIC Domains
« Reply #31 on: June 17, 2013, 07:32:21 PM »
To get CentralNIC domains working correctly:

In:
/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER

Code: [Select]
'.de' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.denic.de',
'available' => 'free'
),

ADD

Code: [Select]
'.com.de' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'free'
),
'.ae.org' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.ar.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.br.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.cn.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.de.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.eu.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.gb.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.gb.net' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.gr.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.hu.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.hu.net' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.jp.net' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.jpn.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.kr.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.no.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.qc.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.ru.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.sa.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.se.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.se.net' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.uk.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.uk.net' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.us.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.us.org' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.uy.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),
'.za.com' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.centralnic.com',
'available' => 'DOMAIN NOT FOUND'
),

Currently they're querying the wrong databases (.com not .de.com), and therefore showing registered domains as available.
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 7: .co.nl and .co.no Domains
« Reply #32 on: June 18, 2013, 07:31:13 AM »
If you want to offer .co.nl and .co.no domains:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

REPLACE:

Code: [Select]
'.co.nl' => array(
'server' => 'whois.co.nl',
'available' => "Domain does not exist"
),

WITH:

Code: [Select]
'.co.nl' => array(
'server' => 'whois.co.nl',
'available' => 'AVAILABLE'
),

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.no' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.norid.no',
'available' => '% No match'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.co.no' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.co.no',
'available' => 'AVAILABLE'
),

"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 8: .as and .ua Domains
« Reply #33 on: June 19, 2013, 04:48:48 AM »
If you want to get .as (American Samoa) and .ua (Ukraine) domains working correctly:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

.as
REPLACE

Code: [Select]
'.as' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.as',
'available' => 'Domain Not Found'
),

WITH

Code: [Select]
'.as' => Array(
'server' => 'http://www.nic.as/whois.cfm?domain=',
'available' => 'Domain not found'
),

.ua
REPLACE

Code: [Select]
'.ua' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.net.ua',
'available' => 'No entries found'
),

WITH

Code: [Select]
'.ua' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.ua',
'available' => '% No entries found'
),

I'll add another update to whois.txt.  This one is the same as the previous, but with Fixes 6-8.  Also I removed .arpa, .gb, and .yu.

To use, rename whois.php and copy over your /includes/extend/whois/whois.php file.  Keep in mind that the auto updated will overwrite it.

An updated list of disfunctional TLDs/SLDs:

The lists as shipped in HostBill v4.6.4
The perpetual "Not Available" issue is affecting the following TLDs:
.ac, .af, .cd, .cx, .ec, .gd, .gs, .gy, .hn, .ht, .io, .lc, .lt, .mn, .ms, .mu, .nf, .ph, .sb, .sh, .tc, .tl, .tm, .vg, .za (org.za, nom.za)

The perpetual "Available" issue is affecting the following SLDs:
.or.af, .co.cz, .com.de, .or.mg, .co.nl, .co.no, CentralNIC

The "Supplied TLD is incorrect" problem is affecting the following TLDs:
.ad, .ao, .ar, .as, .bd, .bh, .bo, .bs, .bw, .bz, .cm, .cr, .cu, .cv, .dj, .gf, .gp, .gt, .iq, .jo, .kw, .ke, .kn, .kw, .lb, .lk, .pk, .sl, .sx, .ua, .vn

Fix 1 -> 8 (23 tlds + 4 sld + CentralNIC)
.ac, .af, .ao, .as, .bd, .bw, .bz, .cx, .gy, .gs, .hn, .ht, .io, .lc, .mn, .ms, .mu, .nf, .ph, .sb, .sh, .sx, .tl, .tm, .ua, .com.de, .co.nl, .co.no, .org.za, CentralNIC

The lists after Fix 1-8
The perpetual "Not Available" issue is affecting the following TLDs:
.cd, .ec, .gd, .lt, .tc, .vg, .za (nom.za)

The perpetual "Available" issue is affecting the following SLDs:
.or.af, .co.cz, .or.mg

The "Supplied TLD is incorrect" problem is affecting the following TLDs:
.ad, .ar, .bh, .bo, .bs, .cm, .cr, .cu, .cv, .dj, .gf, .gp, .gt, .iq, .jo, .kw, .ke, .kn, .kw, .lb, .lk, .pk, .sl, .vn
« Last Edit: June 20, 2013, 01:38:58 AM by thetrusteeco »
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 9: .cm Domains
« Reply #34 on: June 20, 2013, 06:16:16 PM »
If you want to offer .cm (Cameroon) domains from your HostBill site:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

REPLACE

Code: [Select]
'.cm' => Array(
'server' => 'http://whois.domaintools.com/',
'available' => 'This domain name is not registered'
),

WITH

Code: [Select]
'.cm' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.netcom.cm',
'available' => 'Not Registered'
),
« Last Edit: June 20, 2013, 06:23:21 PM by thetrusteeco »
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 10: .cv Domains
« Reply #35 on: June 21, 2013, 07:13:14 PM »
If you want to offer .cv (Cape Verde) domains from your HostBill site:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.co' => Array
(
'server' => 'whois.nic.co',
'available' => 'Not found:'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.cv' => Array(
'server' => 'http://www.dns.cv/tldcv_si/do?com=DS;4186362310;online.200002;+PAGE(online.300110)+RCNT(100)+F_WHOIS(',
'available' => 'Domain name not found / Nick-handle not found'
),
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 11: .ec, .mg, .co.cz Domains
« Reply #36 on: June 22, 2013, 03:29:46 AM »
Looks like I didn't notice .mg should be on the "Supplied TLD is incorrect" list.  Here's 3 more fixes, .ec (Ecuador), .mg (Madagascar), and .co.cz (Czech Alternate).

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

For .ec Domains:

REPLACE:

Code: [Select]
'.ec' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.lac.net',
'available' => 'No match found'
),

WITH:

Code: [Select]
'.ec' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.ec',
'available' => 'Not Registered'
),

For .mg Domains:

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.mg' => array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.mg',
'available' => 'Available'
),

For .co.cz Domains:

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.cz' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.cz',
'available' => 'no entries found'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.co.cz' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.i-registry.cz',
'available' => 'no entries found'
),
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 12: .gt domains
« Reply #37 on: June 23, 2013, 09:00:14 AM »
If you want to add support for .gt (Guatemala) domains:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.gs' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.coccaregistry.org',
'available' => 'Available'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.gt' => Array(
'server' => 'http://www.gt/cgi-bin/whois.cgi?domain=',
'available' => 'DOMINIO NO REGISTRADO'
),
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 13: .lk domains
« Reply #38 on: June 24, 2013, 07:16:11 AM »
If you want to add support for .lk (Sri Lanka) domains (TLDs only not SLDs):

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.li' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.li',
'available' => 'We do not have an entry'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.lk' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.lk',
'available' => 'This Domain is not available in our whois database'
),
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 14: .ke and .ng domains
« Reply #39 on: June 24, 2013, 11:12:20 PM »
If you are looking to get .ke (Kenya) or .ng (Nigeria) domains working:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

.ke
REPLACE

Code: [Select]
    '.ke' => Array
        (
        'server' => 'whois.kenic.or.ke',
        'available' => 'No match found'
    ),

WITH

Code: [Select]
'.ke' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.kenic.or.ke',
'available' => 'Not Registered'
),

.ng
REPLACE

Code: [Select]
'.ng' => Array
        (
        'server' => 'whois.nic.net.ng',
        'available' => 'Not Registered'

WITH

Code: [Select]
'.ng' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.nic.net.ng',
'available' => 'Available'
),

Warning Regarding .NG and .KE Domains: While the above queries are correct, they don't seem to always work, and it doesn't seem to be a firewall issue on the NIC end.  Sometimes the queries seem to just get dropped.  We noticed when this issue is happening, Hostbill seems to become unresponsive.  Not sure what HostBill's doing that would cause a dropped query to eat all the server resources.  I believe it's a periodic connectivity issue between England (where our HostBill Server is located) and Africa.  Most likely both NIC's DC's are using SEACOM exclusively which would cause issues whenever SEACOM has an issue with their Egyptian DC.  This is a guess, but last time it happened we ran queries from other companies websites in Africa, and outside Africa, and the African websites continued to work, while the non-African websites were all failing.  Anyway, you've been warned.

HostBill v4.6.8 still has the whois.php file from 13/11/2012 8:43 AM so I'll continue updating this thread and file for those that want it. An updated list of dysfunctional TLDs/SLDs as of HostBill v4.6.8:

The perpetual "Not Available" issue is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.ac, .af, .cd, .cx, .ec, .gd, .gs, .gy, .hn, .ht, .io, .ke, .lc, .lt, .mm, .mn, .ms, .mu, .nf, .ng, .ph, .sb, .sh, .tc, .tl, .tm, .vg, .org.za, nom.za

The perpetual "Available" issue is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.mk, .or.af, .co.cz, .com.de, .or.mg, .co.nl, .co.no, CentralNIC SLDs

The "Supplied TLD is incorrect" problem is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.ad, .ao, .ar, .as, .bd, .bh, .bo, .bs, .bw, .bz, .cm, .cr, .cu, .cv, .dj, .gf, .gp, .gt, .iq, .jo, .kw, .ke, .kn, .kw, .lb, .lk, .pk, .sl, .sx, .ua, .vn

Fix 1 -> 14 (33 tlds + 5 sld + CentralNIC SLDs)
.ac, .af, .ao, .as, .bd, .bw, .bz, .cm, .cv, .cx, .ec, .gy, .gs, .gt, .hn, .ht, .io, .ke, .lc, .lk (TLD only), .mg, .mn, .ms, .mu, .nf, .ng .ph, .sb, .sh, .sx, .tl, .tm, .ua, .co.cz, .com.de, .co.nl, .co.no, .org.za, CentralNIC SLDs

The lists after Fix 1-14
The perpetual "Not Available" issue is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.cd, .gd, .tc, .vg, .nom.za

The perpetual "Available" issue is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.or.af, .lk (all SLDs), .mk, .or.mg

The "Supplied TLD is incorrect" problem is affecting the following T/SLDs:
.ad, .ar, .bh, .bo, .bs, .cr, .cu, .dj, .gf, .gp, .iq, .jo, .kw, .kn, .kw, .lb, .mm, .pk, .sl, .vn

Added is an updated whois.txt (v4).  To use: rename to whois.php and upload to /includes/extend/whois/
I recommend you rename your existing whois.php to something else before you upload this version in case you have issues.
KBKP: you can ship this version in future HostBill builds ;)
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline tallship

  • 619
  • 19
  • Active Participant
  • *****
  • Manager Network Services
    • Skype - tallship
    • Business Internet and Telephony since 1985.
Re: Supplied TLD is incorrect
« Reply #40 on: June 25, 2013, 10:13:49 AM »
Added is an updated whois.txt (v4).  To use: rename to whois.php and upload to /includes/extend/whois/
I recommend you rename your existing whois.php to something else before you upload this version in case you have issues.
KBKP: you can ship this version in future HostBill builds ;)

Thanks a bunch for that @Thetrusteeco! I've been following this thread for a while, but didn't want to interject while it was still incubating.

On that other note, however, did you really think that kbkp wouldn't just appropriate it and include it anyway without first having been granted permission? :)
Bradley D. Thornton - Manager Network Services, NorthTech Computer   TEL: +1.310.388.9469 (US) | +44.203.318.2755 (UK) | +61.390.088.072 (AU) | +41.43.508.05.10 (CH)
Registered Linux User #190795 - "Ask Bill why the string in [MS-DOS] function 9 is terminated by a dollar sign. Ask him, because he can't answer. Only I know that." - Dr. Gary Kildall.

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Re: Supplied TLD is incorrect
« Reply #41 on: June 25, 2013, 12:53:38 PM »
Thanks for the feedback TallShip; nice to know I'm not talking to myself here.   :D

After I opened that bug report at help.hostbillapp.com, I realized that I might be the only HostBill customer that cares about getting domains fully functional.  Most HB sites are using HostBill for gTLDs and not much more (I checked the customers listed on the HostBillApp site; most are still using HostBill).

Regarding KBKP, I'm hoping they take the hint and push out these fixes to the community, as there are still HB owners that haven't found this forum yet.  Ultimately I don't care, anyone that Googles HostBill Supplied TLD is incorrect should find this thread as result #2, and the updated files are free to download.

I'm still working on the fixes, but it's less important now that the main TLDs I needed are functional.  I can generally dedicate an hour or so a day to this right now.  Some TLDs might never work right in HostBill, but that would be because of issues at the NICs.

Out of curiosity TallShip, given your knowledge-base on registry software, do you have any suggestions for NICs that don't have public WHOIS databases (ex: nic.sl)?  Keep in mind I did not code HostBill ( ;) ) and WHOIS Queries is what it's using.
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline tallship

  • 619
  • 19
  • Active Participant
  • *****
  • Manager Network Services
    • Skype - tallship
    • Business Internet and Telephony since 1985.
Re: Supplied TLD is incorrect
« Reply #42 on: June 25, 2013, 02:58:32 PM »
Thanks for the feedback TallShip; nice to know I'm not talking to myself here.   :D

After I opened that bug report at help.hostbillapp.com,...

BTW, Your standing in a long line, the back of which begins HERE

...I realized that I might be the only HostBill customer that cares about getting domains fully functional.  Most HB sites are using HostBill for gTLDs and not much more (I checked the customers listed on the HostBillApp site; most are still using HostBill).

Well, partly because of you, I'm going to be expanding my coverage of TLDs. I have no intentions of focusing on it as a business primary business product, but you're sparks have rekindled in me, the determination to ensure that this crucial part of Internetworking is part of the family of services that deserves the best support for.

Domain registration services are a big hassle for me, taking time away from other things that I could actually be billing customers for, and none of my associates here can do it right either, so it's a monetary hit for me, but one that I've prided myself in as far as excellence goes, since 1985. I'm speaking of the Domain Name System in general there.

Regarding KBKP, I'm hoping they take the hint and push out these fixes to the community, as there are still HB owners that haven't found this forum yet.  Ultimately I don't care, anyone that Googles HostBill Supplied TLD is incorrect should find this thread as result #2, and the updated files are free to download.

I made a tarball for you, tried to PM it over to you a couple of hours ago, but the PM system doesn't support attachments. Call me old school, but I think that things like that should be distributed as archives w/a README :P

I'm still working on the fixes, but it's less important now that the main TLDs I needed are functional.  I can generally dedicate an hour or so a day to this right now.  Some TLDs might never work right in HostBill, but that would be because of issues at the NICs.

Or, as you point out below, because kbkp chose the boneheaded way of working with the registrars by using WHOIS instead of the registrars registry database APIs, I would imagine?

Out of curiosity TallShip, given your knowledge-base on registry software, do you have any suggestions for NICs that don't have public WHOIS databases (ex: nic.sl)?  Keep in mind I did not code HostBill ( ;) ) and WHOIS Queries is what it's using.

Oh, most of my take on that is philosophical, actually.

On one hand I applaud those registries and TLD Managers for not relinquishing the reigns to third party carpetbaggers.

On the other, I think that since they're prolly already keeping the list and checking twice in Excel, that it would be a simple matter for them to set up a port 43 WHOIS server that pulls from a simple database created from the csv files generated by those Excel spreadsheets.

With so little activity (and perhaps unrealistic, or purposefully prohibitive registration restrictions some ccTLDs have enacted) at many of those registries, it might not be either feasible or prudent to bother with anything more than simply editing the TLD zonefiles by hand on their TLD servers.

Nevertheless, regarding queries of domain registrations, the RFCs say otherwise, don't they? ;)

I've stopped by your site a couple of times. I like it. And I think you're offering a valuable service that in many ways, only ICANN Accredited Registrars are offering - In this age of Best Buy and Walmart, where your favorite ma/pa sandwich deli is going under, I applaud your commitment to excellence and your dedication to serving the domain registration services interests of people out there.

You're certainly on my list of sites to refer people to when someone asks me who should they go to register an obscure domain :)

On another note, there's all these various reseller options out there. Many of them quite competitive too. I keep thinking, "Well, I could plug in another one for the majority of what I'm going to augment my offerings with and just use OpenSRS for the core com/net/org/etc.. TLDs.

But a few years back, when I was looking at a lot of these, they appeared to me to be little more than affiliate systems w/an API - and that's certainly not something I would want to get involved with.

When a customer has a problem, and in DNS they can really produce some whoppers LOL!, I like knowing that if it's my customer, I can, in a worst case scenario, go right into the OpenSRS backend and reach down almost into the registry level and directly fix whatever is broken with any of my customers domains - even if integration with HostBill at this point appears to be half broken (see my thread about "OpenSRS Transfers" failing.

In fact, I don't even know what this new OpenSRS interface even looks like. I've been using the old one for over ten years now I think, and as ugly and basic as it is in terms of HTML, it's wholly functional.

And although I'm learning that I can create really kewl loss leaders and specials by throwing up custom order pages and such, I'm currently charging 15 bucks a pop for domains, with a slight discount for 2yr and 5yr registrations. So my customers are really paying for that need to have me go in and directly fix broken data directly, myself, and immediately, if such a need ever arises.

Having to open a trouble ticket with a provider who is merely going to in turn open a trouble ticket with their provider and then fire brigade the tech support thread back to me is not my idea of a comfortable place to be supporting or billing my customers from; and although people may think of domain registrations as inexpensive, my support tiers start at $85/hr - so I need to be able to react quickly to resolve an issue.

I'm certainly never going to be a place where so-called domainers, especially experienced ones, want to keep their registrations :)

Anyway, getting back to the main point of all of this, thank you so much for the fix, I personally find extreme value in it, since I believe that most service providers should have a functional and comprehensive WHOIS service on their websites.

Kindest regards,
Bradley D. Thornton - Manager Network Services, NorthTech Computer   TEL: +1.310.388.9469 (US) | +44.203.318.2755 (UK) | +61.390.088.072 (AU) | +41.43.508.05.10 (CH)
Registered Linux User #190795 - "Ask Bill why the string in [MS-DOS] function 9 is terminated by a dollar sign. Ask him, because he can't answer. Only I know that." - Dr. Gary Kildall.

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Re: Supplied TLD is incorrect
« Reply #43 on: June 26, 2013, 02:54:08 AM »
Hey TallShip, you're welcome  ;)

Regarding a Archive/README: If I get the bulk of the TLDs fixed, and HostBill doesn't ship this file, I'll consider putting together a proper page somewhere with a Download Link (File + README + "I'm not going to fix your website if you screw it up" TOU).

I'm still viewing this thread as a How-To more than a Product, although I guess others might see it differently.  I'm not sure exactly what Lawrence is working on for the "HostBill Market", and exactly how HDCP will develop, but I am thinking that a developer area would be a great add-on for HostBillForums.  jeffrey404 suggested starting a repository of HostBill templates (I assume non-KBKP ones), and I think that the updated whois.php could be provided there as well.  Obviously this is a freebee, even if the others are paid.

Regarding my website: I noticed an IceCat prowling the site, I was wondering if that was you.  Thanks for the kind words.  :)  Feel free to send us your customers!  However...

If you decide to expand your lineup beyond OpenSRS, I recommend Hexonet and Subreg.  The Hexonet module shipped with HostBill was rebuilt by Hexonet about a year ago, and Hexonet is very white-labelled.  The Subreg module is from Vasicka Software, and Subreg is quite white-labelled, although for some ccTLDs they are themselves a reseller, and their partner may not be white-labelled.  Both are excellent overall.

My HostBill site is just a side project we setup to solve a few domain registration issues.  We're not ICANN accredited, and that's not a goal.  We register our gTLDs via a reseller account.  Some of the ccTLDs are direct through the NICs and others are through reseller accounts.  We set it up because about 5 years back we needed to register a bunch of .org.tlds for a NGO (brand-protection) and found it was a huge hassle, because most registrars only deal with .com.tlds, and the few that offered larger lineups were price-gouging.  It left us managing domains at 2-3 dozen registrars, which was a nightmare when renewals came up. 

We started expanding our TLDs about 3-4 years ago (on our former WHMCS site).  Since then, our business has shifted and right now I'd say most of our customers are web-developers in various countries at build websites for their local markets, and need local domains.  However, setting up some of these TLDs is a hassle, and requires manual involvement.  Ultimately, we don't make money off of the domains.

Half the time I think this website was just a huge waste of time, as it isn't really profitable, and I doubt will ever be, but it does solve a problem for some our customers, so we keep developing it. This really isn't a good business plan for anyone that might want to consider it, but it works as an additional service.  I'd honestly like to sell it, but can't, because no one would keep it going, and I'd just have to set it up again.   :P
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz

Offline thetrusteeco

  • 257
  • 11
  • Active Participant
  • *****
    • The Trustee Co.
Fix 15: .pa domains
« Reply #44 on: June 27, 2013, 07:05:37 AM »
.pa (Panama) should also be on the "Supplied TLD is incorrect" list.  If you are looking to get .pa domains working:

IN:

/includes/extend/whois/whois.php

UNDER:

Code: [Select]
'.nz' => Array(
'server' => 'whois.srs.net.nz',
'available' => '220 Available'
),

ADD:

Code: [Select]
'.pa' => Array(
'server' => 'http://www.nic.pa/whois.php?nombre_d=',
'available' => 'El dominio'
),
"No man really becomes a fool until he stops asking questions"
Charles Proteus Steinmetz